Talent verses Skill. What do You Have More Of?

Will Smith was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, on September 25, 1968. At 16, Smith met a DJ at a party. The pair became friends, and the rapping duo DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince was born. In 1990, Smith moved into acting with his role in the TV show The Fresh Prince Of Bel-Air. in 1992 Smith crossed over into movies. He has been starring in popular films ever since. Although there have been many movies I’ve enjoyed with this talented artist, I would say that Pursuit of Happyness is by far my favorite. Will Smith stars in this moving tale inspired by the true story of Chris Gardner, a San Francisco salesman struggling to build a future for himself and his 5-year-old son Christopher (Jaden Smith). When his girlfriend Linda (Thandie Newton) walks out, Chris is left to raise Christopher (Jaden Smith) on his own. Chris’ determination finally pays off when he lands an unpaid internship in a brutally competitive stockbroker-training program, where only one in twenty interns will make the cut. But without a salary, Chris and his son are evicted from their apartment and are forced to sleep on the streets, in homeless shelters and even behind the locked doors of a metro station bathroom. With self-confidence and the love and trust of his son, Chris Gardner rises above his obstacles to become a Wall Street legend.

The more I find out about who Will Smith is- his perspective, values, and beliefs, the more I realize that he inherently has many similarities to Chris Gardner. Below are some of my favorites quotes by Will, and [this] video gives clear insight into the perspective of one of the most successful individuals in Hollywood today. Particularly he speaks about the difference between talent verses skill. Quite interesting…I won’t spoil it for you- watch the video to find out more! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did… and be sure to watch “The Pursuit Of Happyness” if you have not already!

“Money and success don’t change people; they merely amplify what’s already there.”

“I’ve always considered myself to be just average talent and what I have is a ridiculous insane obsessiveness for practice and preparation. And where I excel is ridiculous, sickening, work ethic. You know, while the other guy’s sleeping? I’m working.”

“I’m a student of world religion, so to me, it’s hugely important to have knowledge and to understand what people are doing.”

“The first time that I performed as an actor was the first day on the set of ‘The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.'”

“If it was something that I really committed myself to, I don’t think there’s anything that could stop me becoming President of the United States.”

“Whatever your dream is, every extra penny you have needs to be going to that.”

Source Credits:
http://www.sonypictures.com/movies/thepursuitofhappyness/
http://www.biography.com/people/will-smith-9542165?page=3

Leave a Reply

